top of page
  • Writer's picturemissybigskybooks

The Boys - Booktour Review

Updated: Jun 20, 2023


📖 Book Tour 📖 Title: The Boys Author: Katie Hafner Publisher: Spiegel and Grau @spiegelandgrau Genre: Contemporary Fiction Paperback Edition: 5/2/23 Thank you @tlcbooktours + the publisher @spiegelandgrau for having me on this book tour.


Clever. Quirky. Character driven. Plot Twist. Mental Health.


Author, Katie Hafner, does an excellent job exploring trauma survivors through the characters of Ethan, Barb and their foster boys, Tommy and Sam. Told in a three part story, short at 240 pages, this one packs a punch!


Spontaneous Barb and planner Ethan meet during Grad school when they are both working for the same company. They marry and eventually decide to foster two young brothers, Tommy and Sam. The boys eventually become a wedge in their relationship, coupled with a secret that has been haunting Ethan since childhood.


“The is a surprise at the center of this book, so original and unusual that I stopped pushing forward a day to reread the first half again… What a wonder of storytelling. I will be thinking of these boys for a long time to come.”
—Weike Wang, New York Times Book Review

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ I love character driven and things that push the norm a little. This was heartwarming and endearing at its core. A timely story to face mental health, loneliness and so many important topics. For fans of Kevin Wilson, Anne Tyler and Elizabeth Berg.


Purchasing from the link below supports independent book stores and my site!





8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page